Cheers to 2015

Happy New Year everyone. I love this time of year because it’s the best reason to see all of your friends and family (and yes Skype counts). This year we will be at Playa Tamarindo with about 5000 other people enjoying the sun, water and live music from the the Coca-Cola tent. The beach has exploded these last few days and apparently there will be bonfires and fireworks so we’re pushing the twins bedtime in hopes of seeing some of the action. I was trying to reflect on the past year but outside of this trip – it all just meshes together with the last few years. Life has become divided into pre and post babies and when I look back at the last few New Years’ I would say they do a pretty good job of representing their year.

First is 2012/2013 : We threw a party with enough food and drink to last into the early morn. It was a great time with champagne, noise makers and the perfect mix of old and new Vancouver friends. I was thoroughly enjoying my bottle of wine because I knew that 2013 was going to be the year of ‘the baby’. 2012 was the year of ‘us’ where J and I made sure to enjoy as much music, art, late nights and sleeping in as we wanted. We ate healthier and played v-ball at the beach as often as possible in preparation to grow a healthy baby and so I was ready to throw it down that New Years Eve.  Our guests however were not. Most people stayed until the respectable 1am before heading off to get an early start the following day (that’s Vancouver for you – the mountains are always calling). By this point I was well into bottle #2 and ready to either have a dance party or head to the beach for a swim but no part of me was going to bed. Somehow I convinced the last few people to join me in the dance party until it was just J and I waiting for the sunrise at kits beach. It was perfect.

Last year 2023/2014: We again had a few friends and family over including our new neighbours for a few drinks. The twins were 3.5 months old and I was only having the occasional drink throughout the holidays so come 12:30am I was a) proud I was even awake and b) tipsy from my rum and coke so off to bed I went. Naturally I assumed it would be an early evening for everyone yet come 2am when I woke for the first night feed I could hear a few people still celebrating downstairs and then come 5am when I woke for the next feed I found a very happy J who was ready to keep me company, stare lovingly at our babies while they slept and reflect on our amazing year.

“New Years” is never how you expect it to be but when you spend it with the right people it is always a great time.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2015.

One thought on “Cheers to 2015

Leave a Reply

